I used to think my lips were too big to wear bold lipstick. I stuck to neutral, nudes and lip gloss. Until my best friend grabbed my face, (I will never forget) and put M.A.C currant liner and vino on my lips. After looking in the mirror, I laughed at the silliness I had convinced myself to believe. Fast forward 15 years, I have just about every color for my skin tone by MAC.

Wicked: Black matte lippie
Wicked: Black matte lippie

Then I was introduced to House Of Uni. Formerly known as Calypso Cosmetics, the line boasts beautiful bright lipsticks and the most amazing long lasting lip laquers. Caribbean inspired colors with a “Live Out Loud” motto, the company inspires their “goddesses” to embrace their bold side. Wicked, Rumbar, Bonfire, Blackberry and Night nurse are my favorites.

Mashup of Wicked & Fountain Lust lip colors
Mashup of Wicked & Fountain Lust lip colors

What’s even more impressive is the price point. The lipsticks sell for about $9 a pop, but the bundles deals are what gets everyone. 3 for $20 or 5 for $35 keeps orders flying out the door. They sell out of colors pretty quickly and the back orders are abundant. With all this success in a little under a year, I spoke with the owner and was surprised to hear her say that she plans to keep prices low.

Thatsayannaj houseofuni
3 for 20 Bundle Deal
5 Bundle deal
5 for 35 Bundle Deal

 “There’s no way I could know what it really costs for lipstick and overcharge my customers”.
– HofU Owner Kumiko.

 

Check out the brief interview I did with House Of Uni.

Ayanna J: How do you select colors?

House of Uni: Since we are inspired by the Caribbean we choose colors that scream bold and colorful. Anything that reminds you of tropical beaches, fun in the sun and breathtaking scenery we want it! No one has ever gone to the islands and came back without anexciting story of there adventure. We want the same effect when it comes to our lipsticks.
Liquid Lacquers – House Of Uni
Ayanna J: What was the inspiration behind starting HOU?
House of Uni: With the founders being a husband and wife duo from the Caribbean. They were inspired by everything the Caribbean has to offer. From the beautiful beaches and breathtaking scenery down to the rhythmic reggae and calypso music that takes over your body. Another thing the Caribbean is known for is the unity of their people. They’re full of positive vibes and consider you family regardless of where you’re from. That’s why at House of Uni we’re all about uplifting each other regardless of race or ethnic background. As the Jamaican national motto goes “Out of Many One People.”
Raging Bull – House Of Uni
Ayanna J: Looking ahead, what are you hoping to incorporate into future collections?House of Uni: We’ve been getting a lot of demands for lip liners that match our vast collection of lipsticks. We’ve also been getting a few lip gloss inquiries as well. Those will definitely be two collections we’ll be bringing to House of Uni in the future.
 
Ayanna J: Something inspiring to budding entrepreneurs.
House of Uni: Always stay true to who you are and what your brand stands for. If you don’t believe in it then you can’t expect anyone else to. For every disappointment that you receive it should be motivation to work even harder towards your goals.
Bon Fire & Starstruck Liquid Laquers
Bon Fire & Starstruck Liquid Laquers
I’m all about indie brands at this point. I’m happy to keep my lipstick fetish going by supporting this company. Get yours HERE.

xoxo,

Ayanna

 

Leave a comment